Monday, 24 Sep 2018

2018/19 English Premier League Fixtures Match Schedules

Premier League 2018-19

English Premier League Fixtures, The 27th season (2018-2019) of the English Premier League will be held from the 10th of August 2018 to 12th May 2019, well the 1st match will be played between Manchester United and Leicester City on the 11th of August.

Pep Guardiola’s Manchester City will start their title defence against Arsenal in an away match on the sprawling green meadows of the Emirates Stadium on 12th of August. It will be a test of nerves for the newly appointed Manager of Arsenal, Mr. Unai Emery, League will be contested by the top 17 teams from the previous season (2017-2018) and 3 teams promoted from the EFL Championship. The 3 new teams joined as the promoted clubs from the EFL 2017-2018 EFL Championship are Wolverhampton Wanderers, Cardiff City, and Fulham.

The top-notch league in the English football league system is the Premier League. It is also popularly known amongst the people as the English Premier League (EPL). The Premier League was founded on 20th of February 1992 and the 1992-1993 season was its first season.
Every year, the premier league season starts from the month of August and continues till of the next year. The league is comprised of 20 teams, each playing 38 matches (including home and away matches). The league is the most- watched sporting event in the world and generates a colossal amount of money every season.

Format of English Premier League Fixtures (Match Schedules):

20 teams will participate in the league. During the course of the season, each club will play each other twice (one home and one away match). Each team will play 38 matches which will be played every weekend till the month of May from the month of August. Teams will receive 3 points from a win and 1 point from a drawn match. No points will be awarded for a loss, Teams will be ranked by total points, then goal difference, and then goals scored. At the end of the tournament, the top three teams will automatically qualify for the UEFA Champions League but the 4th place team will have to qualify for it by winning two legged- knockout tie.

Defending Champions of the new season:
The 26th season of the Premier League Championship held in 2017-2018 was won by the Manchester City Football Club. It was their 3rd Premier League title making the club to reach the 3rd position of the total number of titles won by the English Clubs since the inception of EPL. The Men in Blue had clinched victory comfortably with five games remaining, displacing Chelsea as the defending champion, It was a dream League for the Manchester City boys as they broke several records over the course of the season which includes most points (100), most wins (32), most goals (106), etc.